If you experienced a similar event like the one Betancourt experienced, how do you think it would effect you after?

Betancourt was kidnapped and held hostage for over six years. She will never get those years back with her children. She was brave and fought for her survival. I do not know if I could  be capable of fighting constantly and not knowing if this would be the day I would be free!

My life would never be the same. I would have to deal with the memories, even nightmares, of being trapped. I could not listen to certain music that may remind of the jungle and all the mysteries it holds. Later, it would effect my interactions with other people. I would have trust and abandonment issues. I would long for my old life, but I would know that life would never be the same. I would be a different person for the better and the worse.  I would grow as a person, but the trauma will shape who I am. Overall, it is not how the situation marked you, but what you take form it. I woould try to take the good from it rather than the bad. Life experience is how we learn in life. 

 

 

One thought on “If you experienced a similar event like the one Betancourt experienced, how do you think it would effect you after?

  1. Reflection
    This question was based off a reading we did in class. I thought I would reflect on how i thought it would be life after returning home form being kidnapped and held hostage for six plus years. It is not an event we think about often. Nor, do we think about those who have been in these situations.

Leave a Reply

